Some disturbing news from my pre-op visit…

October 15, 2006

I was very dissapointed and disturbed to learn that Alta Bates only gets local channels, which means no ESPN or Fox Sports Net. Supposedly they can wheel in a VCR or something. So I’ll most likely completely miss the Cal – Washington game; I’m hoping someone tapes it and brings it by after the game.

I asked if I could set up a spare DirecTV dish and bring my own TV and receiver, but they said no, it might interfere with someone’s cardiac equipment. Sheesh. Some priorities, huh!

As for the rest of it, I’m getting nervous and a bit irritable before the surgery. I guess that’s understandable. Friends have been calling and wishing me well, but I just don’t know the answer to virtually any question, from “how long will you be in the hospital” to “how long will the recovery take” to “what will you feel like after the operation”. I just don’t know!

I do know the drugs for chemo sickness were pretty darn good, and I was out of it. I imagine the drugs for major surgery would be better, right? So expect an incoherent person if you do manage to get ahold of me!

Call my cell to get my brother’s cell number — he’ll have all the info. Just leave a message on his cell voicemail and he’ll get back to you. If I answer my cell, you’re in luck! You might be able to ask me anything, because on the drugs they’ll probably give me, I’ll be likely to simply make something up.

8 Responses to “Some disturbing news from my pre-op visit…”

  1. ScottW said

    Just wanted to let you know that you’ve been thought of and prayed for often today.

  2. SheriM said

    I know you will be able to kick this…you’ll come out of this a stronger and dare I say full of stories.

    Thinking and praying for you….

  3. Aamir said

    Lots of thoughts and prayers for you. May you have the speediest of recoveries.

  4. Chris Hawley Ruppel said

    Ditto here. I know the recoveries for these types of surgeries are not fun, and I hope it is going OK. Go bears!

  5. John Sieverding said

    Dave,

    You move quickly. Hope it went great for you, sorry about Cal game. Cal will win though, Rose Bowl bound. I assume you will be in Pasadena.

    John

  6. Shme!

    Just heard about this. “Oh Crap” sums it up nicely.

    I have a close friend who had throat cancer 12 years ago. Full remission. I’ll be thinking good thoughts.

    Hang in there, man!

    John and Betsy

  7. Dearest Shme,

    Pleasant dreams and heal quickly & fully.

    Betsy & John

  8. scottW said

    if anyone has details, please email me.

    scott_walz@bellsouth.net

    Thanks! 😦

Leave a Reply

